top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureErin

8 Reasons Why I Need to go to Sydney RIGHT NOW

Updated: Dec 2, 2019

This is the piece that got me this amazing opportunity to write for the ISU Study Abroad Office. Enjoy!


The Wildlife - Kangaroos, koalas, platypuses (yes, that is the correct term). The animals in Australia are some of the most unique in the world. Would I be doing my Perry the Platypus any justice if I didn’t scope them out?


Big City Life - I will be turning in the small town of Ames, Iowa for the bustling city of Sydney. With over 4 million people, Sydney is the biggest City in the country - and far larger than the city of 50 thousand I grew up in. This ever-growing city is full of ethnic neighborhoods full of history and culture and memories just waiting to be made.


My Best Friend - I’ve always known I wanted to go study abroad in Australia - a beach photo cladded brochure at a study abroad fair locked me in, but I didn’t know exactly where I wanted to go. I had a country, a whole CONTINENT in mind, but wasn’t sure which school or city would be the best fit for. After researching nearly a dozen universities around the country I decided on the University of Sydney. But I wasn’t the only one who had come to that conclusion - my best friend had too. We coincidentally chose the same country and same city and the same school and same semester. We never planned to travel the world together, but I am beyond blessed that she is going to be there with me.


English - As a tried and true, small town(ish), American teenager, I can only speak English. As much as I long to be bilingual and immerse myself into a completely different culture, my A- in Spanish 101 last semester wasn’t going to cut it. As I considered different places to study abroad, the thought of going to a country where English wasn’t the first language terrified me. What would I eat? How would I get to class? Where’s the bathroom? My fear of being unable to answer these simple questions helped narrow down my search and gave me just another reason to choose Australia.


The beach - What can I say? As a girl who has lived in nothing but landlocked states and has endured the Iowa winter, I NEEDED to study abroad near a beach. I will be leaving mid-February 2018 aka the tundra. In Australia this is will be end of the summer and the perfect retreat from the snowy winter I’m leaving behind.


The Great Barrier Reef - One day its dead, the next day it’s not. I’m no scientist, but I can’t seem to find a straight answer to the question. But point is, I am a part of the last few generations that will be able to experience the great barrier reef and all of its beauty. With 2900 reefs and 1500 types of fish, it is definitely something I will take time to see.


The Doshi - This may be the most ridiculous reason, but also the most interesting. The doshi is a donut sushi combo that I will absolutely have to try. They are white or purple rice rings covered in a layer of fish and topped with avocado, cucumber and other typical sushi ingredients, all stacked together to look like a donut. As a sushi lover and Dunkin addict, the doshi has given Sydney yet another stamp of approval.


I’ve always wanted to go abroad - There was nothing I loved more in school as a kid more than learning about other places: the food, the animals, the people. Everything intrigued me. Now I’m finally old enough to act on this fascination and see other corners of the world. I am taking this opportunity to become a better version of myself. I’ll have difficulties to overcome, new friends to make, and comfort zones to smash. I will learn about myself while learning even more about others within another culture. And I’m sure I’ll come home to share my experiences and use my new skills enrich those around me and truly become a better version of myself.

130 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page