top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureErin

An Afternoon at Wallaby Island

Updated: Dec 2, 2019

Yesterday after class some friends and I took a bus up to Palm Beach and then a ferry out to the Basin State Conservation Area. We had heard of this spot from some Dutch friends who referred to is as "Wallaby Island." No matter how much I googled this mysterious place up North where you can pet and feed wild wallabies, I could not figure it out. Eventually, after a few more friends and roommates made it out there, we learned that it is the Basin Campground off the coast of Palm Beach that is stocked with cute little wallabies.


We basically spent the afternoon running around a camp ground trying to pet wallabies. We didn't bring food, but I wish we did. One walked right up to me and put its little hand on my leg and then realized I didn't have food and left. Luckily, we found one nice enough to let us pet them without snacks!



15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page