top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureErin

Sunday Funday at Jervis Bay

Updated: Dec 2, 2019

Today some of my friends and I took a day trip to Jervis bay (pronounced Jarvis by the locals) on the southern cost of New South Wales. We loaded up on a MiniBus early this morning and made our way down the coast.


Our first stop was Bulli Overlook. This scenic detour looks over the city of Wollongong. From here we could see the whole city that sits right along the coast lined with beautiful beaches.

I got myself a blueberry white chocolate ice cream cone (at 9:30am oops) and enjoyed the view.


Secondly, the tour stopped at Moona Moona Creek Lagoon where we had an hour to hang out and eat lunch. This lagoon sits were the Moona Moona creek meets the ocean. There were dozens of families and kids splashing around in the quiet lagoon. In the picture I’m in between a bridge over the deeper lagoon in front of a sandbar separating it from the ocean. It was a beautiful spot to waste some time in between stops and have lunch.


The most exciting part of the trip - essentially why my friends and I signed up - was to spend the afternoon on Hyams Beach. This beach has the whitest sand in the world (supposedly - turns out lots of beaches make this claim, but it sure was white). My roommates and I brought snorkels and swam around the crystal-clear water for hours. It was amazing; it looked like a tropical island of the Bahamas. Also, I learned that sand that white squeaks when walked on, which is odd, but very cool. I added a video to my Pictures and Videos page.



Lastly, we stopped in the little coastal town of Kiama - home of the Kiama Blowhole and Lighthouse. A blowhole looks similar to a geyser. Water shoots up out of it caused by high tide and the pressure of waves building up through caves. Sadly, we did not see the blowhole blow, but the town and the lighthouse were picturesque.


It was a day well spent. Though it was literally 100 degrees all day long, so we were exhausted we ready to head on back to Sydney.

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page